CSSP Chair Elect Robert Barsley, NIH Director Francis Collins, and CSSP Chair David Penrose

Dr. Vincente Talanquer accepts the CSSP Award for Educational Research from CSSP Chair Elect Dr. Malcolm Butler.

Photo Credit – Peter Cutts

CSSP provides an award, the Sagan Award, for increasing the public appreciation of science. Its purpose is to honor those who have become concurrently accomplished as researchers and/or educators, and as widely recognized magnifiers of the public’s understanding of science.

Past recipients include:

  • 2019: William S. Hammack, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • 2018: Steven Pinker, Johnstone Family Professor of Psychology, Harvard University
  • 2017: Charles Bolden, Former Administrator – National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • 2013: Bassam Shakhashiri, American Chemical Society
  • 2010: Sylvia Earle, National Geographic Society
  • 2009: Thomas L. Friedman, Author, New York Times
  • 2007: Ken Weiss & Usha McFarling, Los Angeles Times
  • 2006: Court TV
  • 2005: Cheryl Heuton & Nick Falacci, NUMB3RS
  • 2004: Popular Science
  • 2002: Philip G. Zimbardo, Discovering Psychology, PBS
  • 2001: Science Times, The New York Times
    John Noble Wilford, Journalist,  The New York Times
  • 2000: John Rennie, Editor, Scientific American
  • 1999: Richard Harris, Science Editor, NPR
    Ira Flatow, Producer & Host, Science Friday, NPR
  • 1998: Alan Alda, John Angier, Graham Chedd, Frontiers
  • 1997: Bill Nye, The Science Guy, TV Program
  • 1996: NOVA (PBS) and Paula Apsell, Executive Producer
  • 1995: National Geographic Society and Magazine: Gilbert Grosvenor & William Allen
  • 1994: Edward Wilson, Curator, MCZ, Harvard University
  • 1993: Carl Sagan, Director, Laboratory for Planetary Studies, Cornell University
CSSP confers its Citation for Leadership and Achievement to honor individuals who merit special recognition for outstanding achievements in the last year in support of scientific research.


Past recipients include:

  • 2018: France Córdova, Director, National Science Foundation
  • 2016: Francis Collins, National Institutes of Health
  • 2015: Peter Gleick, Pacific Institute
  • 2014: Clayton Christensen, Harvard Business School
  • 2012: Fred Kavli, Chairman and Founder, The Kavli Foundation
    Charles Vest, President, National Academy of Engineering
  • 2011: Lisa Jackson, Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
  • 2008: John Warner, Director, Univ. of Mass – Center for Green Chemistry
    Paul Anastas, Director, Yale University – Center for Green Chemistry & Engineering
  • 2007: Bart Gordon, Chair, House Science and Technology Committee
  • 2006: James Hansen, Director, Goddard Inst., NASA 2005: Rep. Frank Wolf (R-VA), Chair, Indep. Agencies Appropriations Melendy Lovett, Senior VP, Texas Instruments
  • 2004: Joseph Jen, Undersecretary, USDA
  • 2003: Norman Neureiter, Science Advisor to Secretary of State
    Charles Savitt, Island Press
  • 2002: Jane Lubchenco, President, ICSU
  • 2000: Harold Shapiro, President, Princeton University
  • Alfred Berkeley, III, Board Vice Chairman, NASDAQ
  • 1999: Mary Woolley, President, Research!America
  • 1998: John Elter, Vice President, Xerox
  • 1997: Pete V. Domenici, Chair, Senate Budget Committee
  • 1996: Norman Augustine, CEO, Lockheed-Martin Corporation
  • Vernon Ehlers, Vice Chair, House Science Committee
  • Daniel Goldin, Administrator, NASA

The Educational Research Award is awarded for outstanding achievement in educational research that improved children’s learning and understanding.

Past recipients include:

  • 2019: Vicente Talanquer, University of Arizona
  • 2018: Ryan Shaun Baker, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2015: James Pellegrino, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • 2013: John Falk, Oregon State University
    Deborah Ball, University of Michigan
  • 2011: Carl Wieman, Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • 2008: Linda Darling-Hammond, GSE, Stanford University
  • Robert Tai, University of Virginia
  • 2005: Robert Slavin, Johns Hopkins University
  • 2003: David Hestenes, Arizona State University
  • 2002: Siegfried Engelmann, National Institute for Direct Instruction
  • 2001: Explloratorium, San Francisco
  • Sheila Tobias, Research Fellow, University of Arizona, and Author
  • 2000: Lillian C. McDermott, University of Washington
  • 1999: Eric Mazur, Harvard University
  • 1998: Marcia C. Linn, University of California at Berkeley
  • Joseph D. Novak, Cornell University

Each year, CSSP confers its award for Support of Science to honor an individual who merits recognition for outstanding and dedicated support of US science, free scientific communication, and support of basic research.

Past recipients include:

  • 2019: Susan Collins, Senator from Maine
  • 2016: Marcia McNutt, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2016: Dr. John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology, and Co-Chair of the President’s Council of Science and Technology Policy.
  • 2014: President Barack Obama
  • 2013: Alan Leshner, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2010: The Gordon Research Conferences
  • 2009: Paula Dobriansky, Undersecretary (ret), State Department
  • 2008: Craig Barrett, Chairman, Intel Corporation
  • 2007: Arden Bement, Director, National Science Foundation
  • 2006: Norman Borlaug, CIMMYT
  • 2005: Sherwood Boehlert, Chair, House Science Committee
  • 2004: Don Kennedy, Editor-in-Chief, Science
  • 2003: Christopher “Kit” Bond, Chair, Senate Independent Agencies Appropriations Committee
  • 2002: Martin A. Apple, President, CSSP
  • 2001: Bruce Alberts, President, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2000: Bill Frist, MD, Chair, Senate Science Caucus
    Neal Lane, Director, OSTP, White House
  • 1999: Dudley R. Herschbach, Baird Professor, Harvard
  • 1998: F. Sherwood Rowland, University of California, Irvine
  • 1997: Norman Augustine, CEO, Lockheed-Martin Corporation
  • 1996: Mary L. Good, Undersecretary for Technology, US Dept of Commerce
  • 1995: Philip H. Abelson, Editor-in-Chief (ret), Science
  • 1994: M.R.C. Greenwood, Assoc. Director, OSTP, White House
  • 1993: Maxine Singer, President, Carnegie Foundation
  • 1992: D. Allen Bromley, Director, OSTP, White House
  • 1991: George E. Brown, Chair, House Committee on Science, Space and Technology
  • 1990: Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden
  • 1989: C. Everett Koop, US Surgeon General
  • 1988: Roland W. Schmitt, Chair, National Science Board
  • 1987: William Cary, Executive Officer, AAAS
  • 1986: Erich Boch, Director, National Science Foundation
  • 1985: George Keyworth, Science Advisor to the President
  • 1984: Frank Press, President, National Academy of Sciences
  • 1983: Don Fuqua, Chairman, House Committee on Science and Technology