CSSP Winter Leadership Workshop, 7-10 December 2019


All sessions will be held in Marvel Halls in the American Chemical Society (ACS) Hach Building, 1155 16th Street, NW, Washington, DC. Agenda is subject to change.

Saturday, 7 December 2019

CSSP Executive Board Meeting 9:00 am-12:00 pm
Leadership Primer for Interested Presidents
JOHN DOWNING, Director of Minnesota Sea Grant, University of Minnesota Duluth; Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography
9:00 am-12:00 pm
CSSP Board of Directors Lunch 12:00-1:00 pm
Attendee Registration 12:00-1:00 pm
CSSP Meeting Opening and Welcome
Committee Process Information
Self-Introductions of Attendees
1:00-2:00 pm
Session One – State of the Union in Science 2:00-6:00 pm
JENNIFER ORME-ZAVELETAPrincipal Deputy Assistant Administrator for Science, Office of Research and Development, US Environmental Protection Agency. The global view of science in the US and emerging issues of future scientific concern 2:00-3:15 pm
Break 3:15-3:45 pm

Panel: The Future of Science and Scientific Leaders in the US
New Voices in Science, Increasing Challenges to U.S. Scientific Leadership, the impact of technology to the future of science.

MICHAEL LUBELL – Mark W. Zemansky Professor of Physics, CCNY and author of Navigating the Maze: How Science and Technology Policies Shape America and the World.
ALI NOURI, President, Federation of American Scientists and co-chair NASEM  New Voices network
TOBIN SMITH, Vice President for Policy, AAU. Co-chair for Benchmarks 2019: Second Place America? Increasing Challenges to U.S. Scientific Leadership report, released May 2019

3:45-5:00 pm
Award presentation: VICENTE TALANQUER, Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona, will be presented the CSSP Educational Research Award 5:00-5:30 pm

Opening Reception (Othmer Hall)

Dinner will be on your own following the reception.

5:30-7:30 pm

Sunday, 8 December 2019


CSSP Committee Meetings – Morning
Participants will meet with two different committees – one in the morning, one in the afternoon.

  • Government and Public Affairs
  • Scholarly Publications and Data
  • Science
8:00-9:00 am
Session Two: Developing the Pipeline of Scientific Leaders 9:15 am-12:15 pm
Industry and Government Scientist panelists.            ERIN JONES – Head of Sustainability and Outreach, Bayer Crop Science (Industry)                                            NANCY S. SUNG – Science Advisor, Directorate for Biological Sciences, National Science Foundation
9:15-10:30 am
Break 10:30 -11:00 am
Coaching Skills for Mentoring the Next Generation of Science Leaders
BETH TRACYSenior Director for Faculty Development, Rutgers University
11:00 am -12:15 pm
Lunch (Othmer Hall) 12:15-1:15 pm
Session Three: Frontiers of Science 1:15-4:45 pm
PAUL F. SOUTH – Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Louisiana State University Engineering alternative plant metabolism to improve crop productivity.” 1:15-2:15 pm

GABOR J. TIGYIProfessor of Physiology and Chemistry, University of Memphis                                      “A drug that can save humankind – but should never be used.” 

2:15-3:15 pm
Break 3:15-3:45 pm

CSSP Committee Meetings – Afternoon
Participants will meet with two different committees – one in the morning, one in the afternoon.

  • Association Best Practices & Ethics (combined)
  • STEM Education
3:45-4:45 pm
Banquet at Logan Tavern

(Included with registration)
Logan Tavern is located at P Street NW
6:30-9:00 pm

Monday, 9 December 2019

Session Four: Society Best Practices–and Ethics, and Gender Inclusion in Science 8:30 am-2:30 pm
Revenue Diversification and its Growing Importance and Trends                                        SHELLEY SANNER M.A., CAESenior Vice President Industry Relations, McKinley Advisors  8:30-9:45 am

Advocacy  – It’s all about Relationships!                KARL ANDERSON – Director of Government Relations, American Society of Agronomy 

9:45-11:15 am
Break 11:15-11:45 am

The Day One Project – A bipartisan project to frame, develop and discuss key opportunities for action on policy for the 2021 administration                              DANIEL CORREA – Day One Project Lead, Federation of American Scientists (FAS) 

11:45 am-12:45 pm
Lunch 12:45-2:00 pm

Business Meeting
Election of new Board members and officers

2:00-2:30 pm

The unification of science, engineering and the workforce as a strong voice for advocacy                      AIMEE HOOD – Regulatory Science Communications Lead, Bayer Crop Science                                                  BRYANNE PETERSON Research Assistant Professor of SEAD Education Assessment & Evaluation, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.  

2:30-3:45 pm
Board Meeting (with newly elected members) 5:00 pm
Dinner on Your Own 6:00 pm

Tuesday, 10 December 2019

Congressional Breakfast 8:00-10:30 am
CSSP Board of Directors Meeting 10:30 am-11:30 pm
Visits to Capitol Hill
Visits Arranged Individually by CSSP Staff or Your University Government Liaison, as Requested in advance
Tuesday afternoon